Athletic News

November 13, 2010
For immediate release:

Huntingdon College
News Release

Caitlin McMahon Earns All-Region Honors as Season Ends at NCAA South/Southeast Regional Championships

MEMPHIS, Tenn. --- The Huntingdon men’s and women’s cross country team each saw its respective season end at the NCAA South/Southeast Regional Cross Country Championships on Saturday.

The Lady Hawks, which captured the Great South Athletic Conference Championship two weekends ago, finished 19th in the 25 team field, while the Hawks, GSAC champions, finished 21st as a team.

“Our times were good today in the rainy weather conditions that we battled, said Head Coach Nate Rucker. “I'm proud of the way our team finished a great season.”

Three-time GSAC Runner of the Year Caitlin McMahon led the women’s team, finishing 34th in the field of 191, after posting a school-record time of 23:27 on the 6k track. McMahon became the first Hawks' cross country team member awarded with All-Region honors on Saturday. Fellow junior Sheaney Marshall finished 98th with a time of 25:36, while junior Jackie Daniels finished 105th with a time of 26:01.

Sophomore Rachael Phillips recorded a time of 26:38 to finish 121st, while fellow sophomore Brianna McClure finished 133rd with a time of 27:09. Also running for the Lady Hawks were juniors Kylie Piercy (27:12, 135th) and Chala Monk (27:47, 142nd).

The women’s meet was won by Rhodes College, which had four runners finish in the top-15. Emory finished second, followed by Christopher Newport. Emory's Tess Gallegos was the individual champion from the meet, posting a time of 21:51.

On the men’s side, junior Jeff Jenkins, GSAC All-Conference performer, paced the Hawks with a time of 28:14 on the 8K course, to finish 102nd in the field of 164.

GSAC Runner of the Year Kent Hagan placed 117th with a time of 28:50, while junior Alex Taylor finished 123rd with a time of 29:04. Fellow junior MacDowell Pinckard finished 129th with a time of 29:28, while sophomore Ian Layne finished 140th with a time of 30:18.

Freshman Patrick Cross and senior Cameron Stephenson also ran for the Hawks, finishing 142nd and 150th, respectively. Cross finished with a time of 30:36 and Stephenson posted a time of 36:11.

The men’s meet was won by Lynchburg, followed by Centre and Rhodes. Despite Lynchburg placing three runners in the top-10, the individual championship was won by Sean Whitson of Virginia Wesleyan with a time of 24:54.

The top two teams and next seven individual runners from each race will automatically qualify for the 2010 NCAA Cross Country National Championships to be held Saturday, Nov. 20, at Wartburg College in Waverly, Iowa.


Hodge Patterson
Sports Information Director
Phone: (334) 833-4579

More Athletic News | More Huntingdon News

Huntingdon College is a college
of the United Methodist Church.

Huntingdon Tomorrow
The Princeton Review: A Best Southeastern College